Gareth L. Powell writes science fiction novels, as well as short stories and novellas that often span multiple genres.

The Continuance series

The human race has been cast from a dying Earth to wander the stars in a vast fleet of arks. But the universe is stranger and more deadly than anyone could have foreseen. The novels of the Continuance series can be read in any order.

The Embers of War trilogy

The warship Trouble Dog was built for violence. Seeking to atone for her part in a war crime, she joins the House of Reclamation, an organisation dedicated to rescuing ships in distress. When a ship goes missing in a disputed system, Trouble Dog and her new crew of misfits and loners, captained by Sal Konstanz, the ex-captain of a medical frigate that once fought against her, are assigned to investigate and save whoever they can. 

About Writing

Positive, blunt and refreshingly honest, this is a guide to the practical business of writing from a professional author with a decade’s experience, who has navigated working with publishers of all sizes, and walked the path from debut to award-winner. Written with Gareth L. Powell’s trademark warmth and wisdom, About Writing is here to help you achieve your goals, and write your own story.

The Ack-Ack Macaque trilogy

Welcome to Europe in 2058, a place where Britain and France have been united for a century and vast, nuclear-powered Zeppelins carry passengers between Paris, London and New York. When former journalist Victoria Valois starts investigating the murder of her ex-husband, she attracts a motley assortment of unlikely allies–including a surgically upgraded monkey who drinks, smokes and curses, and can even fly a plane!

The Recollection

Four hundred years ago, Ed and Alice Rico threw themselves through a mysterious portal on the London Underground. Now, starship captain Katherine Abdulov embarks on a desperate race against a ruthless rival captain. Tomorrow, all their lives will be thrown together by disaster, as an ancient evil stirs among the stars, threatening the survival of all life…

Although The Recollection ties into the Ack-Ack Macaque series, but can also be read as a standalone story.


In an age where interstellar travel is dangerous and unpredictable, and no-one knows exactly where they’ll end up, Avril Bradley is a Communications Officer aboard a ship sent to re-contact as many lost souls as possible. But a mysterious explosion strands her in a world of political intrigue, espionage and subterfuge; a world of retired cops, digital ghosts and corporate assassins – all fighting for possession of vital computer data that has lain hidden for almost a century.


Shorter than a novel but still long enough to provide a satisfying read, from the mind-bending space opera of Light Chaser to the Welsh horror of Ragged Alice.

Short Fiction

Collections of short stories.