Gareth L. Powell writes science fiction about extraordinary characters in extraordinary situations. He has won and been shortlisted for several major awards, and his Embers of War novels are currently being adapted for television.

Gareth was born in Bristol and still lives nearby. He began writing at school and university and was fortunate to count Diana Wynne Jones and Helen Dunmore as early mentors.

His books have twice won the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Award for Best Novel and have been finalists for the Locus, British Fantasy, and Seiun awards.

He is a popular guest at conventions and literature festivals, and has given lectures and run workshops on creative writing at several universities. He has also written about science fiction for The Guardian, The Irish Times, and SFX, and been a regular columnist for The Engineer.

His work is published in French, German, Czech, Croatian, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Japanese, and he is represented in all professional matters by Alexander Cochran of the C&W literary agency.



  • 2018 BSFA Award – Best Novel – Embers of War
  • 2013 BSFA Award – Best Novel – Ack-Ack Macaque


  • 2020 British Fantasy Awards – Best Novella – Ragged Alice
  • 2020 Locus Awards – Best SF Novel – Fleet of Knives
  • 2020 BSFA Awards – Best Novel – Fleet of Knives
  • 2020 BSFA Awards – Best Shorter Fiction – Ragged Alice
  • 2020 BSFA Awards – Best Non-fiction – About Writing
  • 2020 Subjective Chaos Awards – Best SF Novel – Fleet of Knives
  • 2019 Locus Awards – Best SF Novel – Embers of War
  • 2016 Seiun Awards – Best Translated Novel – Ack-Ack Macaque
  • 2015 BSFA Awards – Best Short Fiction – ‘Ride The Blue Horse’