New Book Deal!

TITAN BOOKS: ACQUISITION ANNOUNCEMENT 

TWO-BOOK DEAL FOR NEW STAND-ALONE SPACE OPERA NOVELS SET IN A BRAND NEW UNIVERSE FROM AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR GARETH L. POWELL 

July 8, 2019 ― London & New York.  Titan Books are delighted to announce the acquisition for World English rights of two stand-alone space-opera novels, currently titled Stars and Bonesand Stars and Minds, set in a brand-new universe from award-winning author Gareth L. Powell. 

For fans of Iain M. Banks, Ann Leckie, and Peter F. Hamilton, these thoughtful, character-driven literary space operas will sit prominently alongside Powell’s critically acclaimed previous series Embers of War[Titan Books].

When a curious and malevolent alien intelligence starts replacing members of the human race with malign doppelgangers, pilot Eryn King is charged with searching the Thousand Arks of Humanity’s migration for Hank Tucker, the reclusive genius who might hold the key to our species’ survival.

Gareth L. Powell is the author of the space opera epic series Embers of War, winner of the BSFA Award (2018) and shortlisted for the Locus Award (2019); the cult-favourite SF series Ack-Ack Macaque which won the 2013 BSFA Award and was shortlisted for the 2016 Seiun Awards in Japan; and his previous space opera The Recollection.  Powell has garnered extensive critical praise for his previous titles, with Booklist describing Fleet of Knives: Embers of Waras “in a league with Iain Banks and Ann Leckie”, and The Guardianpraising The Recollectionas “beautifully balanced between big ideas and the smaller-scale human story,” adding “if you read only one space opera this year, it’s got to be [this]” and Adam Roberts, author of The Thing Itself, describing the Ack-Ack Macaqueseries as “genius.”

The two-book deal was struck between Alexander Cochran of Conville & Walsh Ltd and Titan Books Editor at Large Cath Trechman.  The first of the two books, Stars and Bones, is due to be published in Spring 2021.

“Gareth writes beautifully, he has an incredible ability to bring a kind of poetry to space opera, whilst also weaving in thrilling action and humour,” says Trechman.  “I am so excited about Stars and Bones, once again Gareth has delivered a masterclass in world building, charactertisation and gripping action.”

“I’m absolutely delighted that Gareth will continue to be published by Cath and the fantastic team at Titan,” says Cochran, “and particularly excited to see his brilliant new series in the hands of his many and growing fans.”

About Titan Publishing Group

Titan Publishing Group is an independently owned publishing company, established in 1981, operating worldwide with offices based in London and sales and distribution in the U.S. and Canada handled by Random House.  TPG is comprised of three divisions: Titan Books, Titan Magazines/Comics and Titan Merchandise.  Titan Books, nominated as Independent Publisher of the Year 2011, has a rapidly growing fiction list encompassing original fiction and reissues, primarily in the areas of science fiction, fantasy, horror, steampunk and crime.  Titan Books also has an extensive line of media- and pop culture-related non-fiction, graphic novels, and art and music books. 

No tags for this post.

Author: Gareth L Powell

Writer

One thought on “New Book Deal!”

Comments are closed.